Charlotte Williams Research

Department of Chemistry University of Oxford

Dr. Peña obtained her PhD in July 2017 from University Rovira y Virgili (Tarragona, Spain) under the supervision of Prof. Arjan Kleij. Her thesis focused on the synthesis of biobased polymers derived from terpenes through ring opening copolymerization reactions. Leticia is currently a member of the Williams group and her research interests focus on the synthesis of biobased thermoplastic elastomers.

Dr. Leticia Peña



Dr Gregory completed her PhD in 2017 as part of the Centre for Doctoral Training in Sustainable Chemical Technologies at the University of Bath, working under the supervision of Dr Antoine Buchard. Her thesis focused on the synthesis and ring-opening polymerisation of cyclic carbonates from sugars and CO2 to form biocompatible polycarbonates for tissue-engineering scaffolds. Georgina has joined the Williams Group with research interests in the synthesis, properties and applications of bio-derived thermoplastic elastomers.

Dr. Georgina Gregory


Patrick obtained his BSc. degree in Chemistry from the Avans University of Applied Sciences (Breda, The Netherlands). He then moved to the Radboud University (Nijmegen, The Netherlands) and completed his MSc. degree in Chemistry (cum laude). Subsequently, Patrick moved to the University of Warwick (UK) to start his PhD research under supervision of Prof. David Haddleton and Dr. Kristian Kempe, working on the synthesis of novel polyester-based materials by spontaneous zwitterionic copolymerisation and melt polycondensation. As of July 2018, Patrick is working in the Williams group on the synthesis of polyester block copolymers for self-assembly and nanomedicine applications.

Patrick de Jongh


Andreas completed his PhD in 2015 at Imperial College London under the supervision of Prof. Nicholas Long and Dr. Philip Miller. His thesis focused on branched triphosphine ligands and their application in the catalytic hydrogenation of biomass-derived acids to green solvents. He was previously a PDRA in the Crimmin group (Imperial College London) and a JSPS Research Fellow in the Nozaki group (University of Tokyo). His work in the Williams group will focus on understanding metal clusters/small nanoparticles for application in the photo-reduction of CO2. The project is sponsored by Shell and in collaboration with groups at Imperial College London (Geoff Kelsall in Chemical Engineering and Milo Shaffer in Materials).

Andreas Phanopoulos


Ryan completed his PhD under the joint supervision of Prof. Andrew Smith and Prof. Polly Arnold at the Universities of St Andrews and Edinburgh. Funded by the Centre for Doctoral Training in Critical Resource Catalysis this collaborative project studied independent and combined Lewis acid-Lewis base catalysis with N-heterocyclic carbenes and rare-earth ions for enantioselective synthesis and small molecule activation. Ryan is currently researching the synthesis of polyethylene using early transition metal catalysts sponsored by SCG.


Ryan Kerr


Arron completed his PhD in the Williams group, and is now continuing to work on new heterodinuclear complexes for the copolymerisation of CO2 and epoxides.

Arron Deacy


Alex completed his PhD under the supervision of Dominic Wright at the University of Cambridge. His work focused on various aspects of main group and supramolecular chemistry. Alex's research in the Williams group will focus on the copolymerisation of CO2 and epoxide.  


Alex Plajer